Songs of the Decade: “Idioteque” (2000)

Photo courtesy of antiquiet.com

I have a confession to make before I dive into my last pick for our countdown of the top songs of the naughts. My confession is that I haven’t been totally honest in picking the best songs of the decade. I wasn’t totally honest because my list would have been nearly all Radiohead songs.

Radiohead has been more than a band over the last ten years. On top of surpassing the absurd standard they set for themselves in the 90’s, Radiohead has revolutionized the music industry with their online release of “In Rainbows” and separate track releases of “Nude” and “Reckoner.”  On top of this, individual band members released a solo album and the award winning soundtrack for best picture winning “There Will Be Blood.”

Radiohead have redefined themselves as many times as The Beatles, and already deserve the same respect.

Here’s my last selection for our songs of the decade, a tribute to the most phenomenal band of the decade: Radiohead.

I’ve included the original “Idioteque” off of the concept album “Kid A”, a nice clean remix, a haunting yet soothing John Mayer cover of the title track “Kid A,” and a remix of “Nude” which was a product of Radiohead giving away the tracks to the song for free.

I can’t wait to see how Radiohead top themselves in the 2010’s.

Radiohead – Idioteque (download)

Radiohead – Idioteque (BBC Remix) (download)

Radiohead – Kid A (John Mayer Cover) (download)

Radiohead – Nude (Holy Fuck Remix 2) (download)

Leave a comment